A provocative view of all that is food

Cooking FAILS: Improper Seasoning & Execution

In Beef Up, Do-it-Yourself, Gluten Free on May 1, 2013 at 12:55 pm
Shark steak

Shown here: Seared shark steak; Dinosaur Kale with Fava beans prepared with garlic, shallots, and toasted sunflower seeds.

A few nights ago, I prepared some shark steak, fava beans and dinosaur kale.

The flavor combinations, herbs, used etc. were fine, but…

Basic Seasoning: FAIL
Execution: FAIL

Long story short, I treated the timing and seasoning as though I was preparing a simple white-fish dish with spinach, which was completely off-base.

Due to the dense texture of the shark, as well as the sheer thickness of the cut, I should have treated the shark steak as I would beef steak. Under-seasoning left the flavor lacking some oomph. Just like steak, I should have given some ample seasoning to the shark with kosher salt and let it sit a bit for it to go through to the core.

It was my first time cooking fresh fava beans too. The whole pods reminded me of snap peas, so I treated them as such after shelling; in reality, I should have boiled or kept them sauteeing for a bit longer than I do peas and treated them more like standard beans. Same goes for the kale – they were very fresh and tough and needed more sautee time.

Now I know for next time. I absolutely love how pretty shark steaks cook up though.

  1. Well, at least it looks delicious!

  2. I know right? What a shame. It wasn’t a complete disaster, but it had a whole lot more potential than the lackluster treatment it got.

    Live and learn.

Leave a Reply

