A provocative view of all that is food

Upgrade to Standard ‘Bachelorette Meal’: Almond-Crusted Flounder with Shrimp Stuffing

In Do-it-Yourself on April 20, 2013 at 11:25 am

 Almond-crusted flounder with shrimp stuffing,
on a bed of garlicky Swiss chard

I tend  to do a lot of what I call “Bachelorette” meals. Some “Bachelor” meals are exactly the same as the aforementioned Bachelorette meals, maybe with less or non-existent veggies, but there’s a rung below that which perhaps I’ll dub as “Dude Food.”

Dude Food is probably something I am not likely to touch. Dude Food is cooking up that last little bag of instant rice and pouring and mixing in the last remainder of the crusty-bottled, forlorn-looking ketchup sitting by itself in the fridge (you know, next to the beer and some foreign substance that is growing tentacles in the very back of the fridge).

Dude food is smashing potato chips, Kix Cereal, and the leftover 5 year old soy sauce packets unstuck from bottom of the sticky catch-all kitchen drawer (yes, I think 99% of people have this drawer) in between some WonderBread.

*Dry heave.*

So, Bachelorette food is nowhere near the same vicinity of Dude Food.

Bachelorette meals usually consist of thawing out some animal out from the freezer earlier in the day before I leave for work, shake some spices, toss into the toaster oven. Done.  This cooking method dates back to college days.

What you see above is a slight upgrade to the simpleness of the standard Bachelorette meal. However, it looks so freakin’ fancy, I’m slightly ashamed to even post it. I also know that other people are super busy in their lives and may appreciate how wonderful this dish tastes with little prep work.

First of all, I’d like to thank the Academy…and thank my beloved Mini-Food Processor, for making this yummy meal possible with little hassle. I also used some leftover things I had in the fridge that I could use up that, of course, weren’t growing eyes or tentacles yet. Hooray for resourcefulness and frugality!

And I used brioche – which makes for part of an AWESOME stuffing (like there was any doubt brioche could ever be bad in anything…).


Prep and Method

I used what I had in the fridge and used the Taste of Home recipe link at the bottom of this blog post for inspiration and to get a hint at the process – after that, I just went at it on my own.

Basic Steps

Have:
– Skillet, Food processor OR blender, and spatula
– 2 Mixing Bowls,  1 spoon
– Foil lined Baking Tray
– Knife to chop, if needed
– Oven or Toaster Oven
– Fish Filets
– Leftover veggies, cheese, bread
– Spices (I LOVE herb de Provence and/or dill), salt, pepper, optional lemon

  • Have some fresh or thawed fish filets on hand. White fish is great: Orange roughy, catfish, swai, tilapia (not my fave, but it’ll work), cod, flounder, etc.  Few pieces of shrimp, if you have it, is great too.
  • Throw any veggies, shredded or pieces of cheese, onions, garlic, spices and other stuff in food processor or blender, put it aside in a bowl.
  • Hand-chop any big items or things you want to have some texture, like bell pepper or broccoli (optional). Add to your bowl mentioned above.
  • Grab some fresh bread or ideally, any leftover sorry-looking and stale pieces of bread you have in the fridge (end-pieces, etc.) and put that into the processor or blender.  Put that in a separate bowl. Add some salt, pepper, and spices. Drizzle some melted butter into your resulting breadcrumbs.
  • Sautee your veggies and spices, toss in your shrimp in the skillet; after you’re done, put back in your bowl.
  • Mix your breadcrumbs and veggie/shrimp mixture in the bowl
  • Lay out your raw filets flat on a foil lined baking sheet. Spoon in your sautée and breadcrumb mixture into the filets. Roll the filet as best you can (You’ll have some oozing out, that’s fine). Any leftover mixture can be scattered on top of the fish. Drizzle some olive oil over the fish.
  • Optional – I packed some almonds that I put through the food processor on top of the fish to coat it too. You can coat the fish before lying it flat on the foil line pan or pat some down afterward, whatever is easiest.
  • Optional, you can use some toothpicks to hold your fish filet rolls together while baking, but it’s not necessary.
  • Bake at about 325 degrees for 20-25 minutes. If the fish filet is thick, you can try 350.
  • Use your same skillet to sautee some greens.

Method Details

I sauteed the shrimp and garlic with a combination of stuff I tossed into the food processor at different times. I combined a few things depending on what it was in the food processor before sauteeing (spinach, fresh basil, garlic, shallot, mushrooms) and hand chopped diced green bell pepper since I wanted that to have a bigger diced texture.

I had put some old leftover brioche bread and butt-ends of multi-grain Italian bread in the processor too and put that in another bowl. After sauteeing, mix the shrimp mixture with the bread crumbs into a bowl together with a little bit of olive oil and a little drizzle of melted butter. I added a little bit of shredded Parmesan cheese I had in the fridge too. You use that to stuff the raw fish.

I had some sliced almonds in the pantry, so I put that in the mini-chopper too and added some spices and dredged the olive-oil coated and salt/pepper seasoned fish through that and then put the filling in. I poured a little bit of melted butter and lemon juice on top of the stuffed fish and I baked in a toaster oven.

While the stuffed fish was baking, I rough chopped some swiss chard I had and sautéed that in the same skillet with some olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic. Lemon juice optional.

The fish was delicious and flaky, almonds were toasty and provided some texture, the filling was very moist and comforting. It took, maybe 30-45 minutes for prep and cooking time.


Inspiration recipe
Flounder with Shrimp Stuffing Recipe:
http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Flounder-with-Shrimp-Stuffing

Leave a Reply

