A provocative view of all that is food

Tamarind-Date flavored Chicken Wings

In Do-it-Yourself, Gluten Free on April 5, 2013 at 10:29 pm

These Tamarind-Date flavored Chicken Wings are good for a party snack/small party meal or for a casual meal.

Tamarind-Date Flavored Wings

Fusion Finger Foods:
American / Indian Tamarind-Date Flavored Wings

I’m all about quickly tossing things together, throwing it in the oven and it doing all the work while I relax or do something else, especially on days that I had a full day at work.

This chicken wing recipe is simple:  rinse, coat, toss, and bake. …

COOKING METHOD AND SUGGESTIONS

These chicken wings are super tasty and simple   to make. Pair it with some carrot sticks, celery, sliced cucumbers, or something remotely vegetable-based to make a very balanced meal. Since I made these wings a while back, I’ll share what I remember of the cooking process.

Grocery stores typically carry wings frozen or  fresh in packets or bags.  I rinse all the chicken and quickly pull off any stray unsavory parts (a wayward feather, extra glob of fat that is barely hanging on).  In a huge mixing bowl, toss the chicken wings in.  Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.

Get a flat baking pan or cookie sheet, line with aluminum foil and place that on the countertop or stovetop for later. In another bowl,  I used a jar of Tamarind-Date sauce from a local farmers’ market or Indian/Indo-Pakistani store. I did a quick taste test of the sauce.

Sometimes, Tamarind-Date is either in concentrated paste form, which you need to dilute a little bit with water or even sweeten it a little bit, or they already make it into ready-to-use sauce form. It also lets me know if there’s already salt in the mixture or not.  If the label does not indicate that it has any salt, you can spread a little kosher salt and cracked pepper to your wings and let it sit there for about 10 minutes or so while you’re working on your sauce.

For any sauce or paste, add some olive oil and/or butter so that the mixture sticks to the chicken, and it crisps up the skin while it’s baking. You can make enough so that you can transfer some of this sauce to another serving bowl for dipping later during the meal (this bowl will not be contaminated with raw chicken). By baking the chicken wings, this is healthier, safer, and less of a mess than frying, and makes it nice and crispy. Also, with using high heat from the oven, you’ll see that the fat from the chicken skin renders and melts off the chicken, but leaves you a crispy skin. If you use lower heat, you’ll have full-fat, rubbery tasting chicken. So in my bowl, I put in the tamarind-date sauce, and if I need to add any salt, pepper,  or any spices that I feel like throwing in there, I do, but I wanted a nice sticky tamarind wing, so I didn’t do too much to this sauce.

I added some olive oil, and whisked this mixture.  Pour this mixture in your big bowl of chicken wings and toss with some tongs or a huge wooden spoon. Spread your coated chicken wings on the foil-lined baking tray, spreading it out all over so that each piece can have its time and space to cook. You can drizzle a little more olive oil if you’d like on top of the wings.

This part is something I don’t quite remember.  I know I did the wings high heat and checked on them in about 25 minutes or so. I may have basted them again in some additional tamarind-sauce and slid the tray back in the oven until the skin looked nice and crisp. You can take one out and see if the inside is done and not red/bloody. When poking cooked chicken, it should run clear juices, not pink. If you feel like the outside is nice and crisp but the inside is still needing some help, turn down your oven to about 300 degrees F and cook another 10 minutes or so. Once chicken wings are done, let it rest on the stovetop or heat-safe countertop for about 10-15 minutes until serving.

Rest all meats/fowl  at least 10 minutes after cooking or the lovely juices run out all over your hands and plate instead of your mouth.  I simply plated the chicken on a plate for my friend and I to grab and eat, but you can garnish with some veggies, lime wedges, cilantro or anything you’d like.

Oh, and have plenty of napkins handy 🙂

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

